2017–18 Legislation and Finance Committee

Under the direction of the WASA Board of Directors, the Legislation and Finance Committee sets the legislative priorities and processes for the association and establishes its agenda for each legislative session.

Region 101

Gene Sementi, West Valley Spokane SD

Region 105

Mike Brophy, Ed.D., West Valley SD (Yakima) Chair
Becky Imler, Wapato SD

Region 108

David Forsythe, NWESD 189

Region 109

Marci Larsen, Ed.D., Mukilteo SD

Region 110

Duggan Harman, Highline SD

Region 111

Tom Seigel, Bethel SD

Region 112

Jeff Snell, Camas SD

Region 113

Cal Brodie, ESD 113

Region 114

David McVicker, Central Kitsap SD

Region 123

Dave Bond, Kennewick SD

Region 171

Garn Christensen, Ph.D., Eastmont SD


Corine Pennington, Puyallup SD


John Welch, PSESD


Vicki Bates, Auburn SD


Devin McLane, Mukilteo SD

Small Schools

Marcus Morgan, Reardan-Edwall SD

Special Education

Jennifer Traufler, Tacoma SD


Carl Bruner, Mount Vernon SD

Federal Legislation

Randy Russell, Freeman SD / AASA Board
Frank Hewins, Franklin Pierce SD / AASA Board
Anthony Smith, Riverview SD


Stephen Nielsen, Seattle SD
Jim Kowalkowski, Davenport SD / Rural Education Center

WASA Consultants (nonvoting)

Fred Yancey, Pensions/Health Benefits
Mitch Denning, AEA
Marcia Fromhold, AESD
Melissa Gombosky, AESD

WASA Staff

Bill Keim, Ed.D., Executive Director
Dan Steele, Assistant Executive Director, Government Relations
Steve Webb, Vancouver SD, President
Sheila Chard, Administrative Assistant


Meeting Schedule

September 11, 2017
8:30–9:30 a.m.

November 13, 2017
8:30–9:30 a.m.

January 8, 2018
Session Begins

January 16, 2018
8:30–9:30 a.m.

January 22, 2018
8:30–9:30 a.m.

January 28, 2018
8–10:00 a.m. / Legislative Conference

February 5, 2018
8:30–9:30 a.m.

February 12, 2018
8:30–9:30 a.m.

February 20, 2018
9:30–10:30 a.m.

February 26, 2018
8:30–9:30 a.m.

March 5, 2018
8:30–9:30 a.m.

March 8, 2018
Sine Die

May 14, 2018
8:30-9:30 a.m.

June 24, 2018
Summer Conference
1–3:30 p.m.