PEMCO Robert J. Handy Most Effective Administrator Awards

Established in 2002, these awards recognize outstanding Washington public school administrators. One highly effective superintendent, central office administrator, or building administrator will be selected from a small district (up to 500 students), medium-sized district (501–2,000 students), and large district (over 2,000 students). A $10,500 award will be equally divided among the three winners. The award may be used for personal or professional growth and/or to support and disseminate information about a successful school or district program. The Robert J. Handy Most Effective Administrator Awards application process will begin January 26, 2022 and ends March 10, 2022. Self-nominations or nominations by others may be submitted to Shari Parsons at the WASA office.

Past Award Recipients

No content found

No content found

Large Districts (2,001+ students)

2022: Kathi Weight, Superintendent, Steilacoom SD

Dr. Wade Smith, Superintendent, Walla Walla PS

2020: Denny Waters, Deputy Superintendent, Battle Ground PS

2019: Janel Keating Hambly, Superintendent, White River SD

2018: William Rasplica, Executive Director of Learning Support Services, Franklin Pierce SD

2017: Joyce Stewart, Deputy Superintendent, Everett PS

2016: Thomas R. Hagley, Vancouver PS

2015: Carl Bruner, Mount Vernon SD

2014: Kristen Sheridan, North Mason SD and Linda Masteller, Sumner SD

2013: Richard Cole, Sunnyside SD

2012: Dennis Maddock, Lakewood SD and Noma Hudson, Longview SD

2011: Steve Webb, Vancouver SD

2010: Dennis Maguire, Pasco SD

2009: Polly Crowley, West Valley, Spokane SD

2008: Patti Banks, University Place SD and Terry Edwards, Everett SD

2007: John Welch, Highline SD

2006: Joel Thaut, Granite Falls SD

2005: Jay Hambly, White River SD

Sponsored by