AASA National Superintendent of the Year Program

The award is designed to recognize the outstanding leadership of active, front-line superintendents and pay tribute to those who lead our public schools. Candidates for the National Superintendent of the Year (SOY) award must first be selected as a State Superintendent of the Year by their state association of school administrators. WASA assists AASA in coordinating Washington’s Superintendent of the Year process. The online nomination and application process opens in May. The online application and nomination form can be found on the AASA website.

Washington's Superintendent of the Year deadline to submit an application is between May 1 to October 1 of each year.
Candidates do not have to be nominated to apply.

A panel of judges from WASA regions, components, and committees selects Washington's SOY. An announcement is made in November at the Superintendents Component meeting. Washington's SOY is awarded a $1,000 check from D.A. Davidson & Company to use towards an educational program of their choice. Questions on Washington's SOY process can be directed to Shawna Kiliz at the WASA office.

Washington State Superintendents of the Year

2024: Laurie Dent, Sumner-Bonney Lake SD
Adam Swinyard, Spokane PS
Susan Enfield, Highline SD
Michelle Reid, Northshore SD **National Superintendent of the Year**  
2020: Greg Baker, Bellingham PS
2019: Mike Nelson, Enumclaw SD
2018: Frank Hewins, Franklin Pierce SD
2017: Gary Cohn, Everett PS
2016: Steve Webb, Vancouver PS **National Superintendent of the Year Finalist**
2015: Dennis Kip Herren, Auburn SD
2014: Edward Vargas, Kent SD
2013: Saundra Hill, Pasco SD
2012: Patti Banks, University Place SD
2011: Mary Alice Heuschel, Renton SD **National Superintendent of the Year Finalist**
2010: Steve Chestnut, Selah SD
2009: Mark Johnson, Nooksack Valley SD
2008: Linda Byrnes, Arlington SD
2007: Larry Nyland, Marysville SD **National Superintendent of the Year Finalist**
2006: Ben Soria, Yakima SD **National Superintendent of the Year Finalist**
2005: Art Jarvis, Enumclaw SD
2004: Carol Whitehead, Everett SD
2003: Rich McCullough, Snoqualmie Valley SD
2002: Steve Rasmussen, Franklin Pierce SD **National Superintendent of the Year Finalist**
2001: Dale Kinsley, Bellingham SD
2000: Karen Forys, Northshore SD
1999: Jim Shoemake, Tacoma SD
1998: Mark Mitrovich, Peninsula SD
1997: Gary Livingston, Spokane SD
1996: Janet Barry, Central Kitsap SD **National Superintendent of the Year**
1995: Bud Scarr, Lake Washington SD
1994: Jim Parsley, Vancouver SD
1993: Brian Benzel, Edmonds SD **National Superintendent of the Year Finalist**
1992: Kent Matheson, Highline SD
1991: Jerry Hester, Spokane SD **National Superintendent of the Year Finalist**
1990: Dennis Ray, Walla Walla SD
1989: Dewayne Gower, South Kitsap SD
1988: George Daniel, Kent SD