OSPI, in partnership with WASA and the national advocate Military Child Education Coalition, is happy to announce the Purple Star Award for qualifying districts who have provided support and resources for military families.

Since military children move as frequently as every two to three years, districts granted the Purple Star Award provide educational and social-emotional supports to these students and their families as they transition to new schools. Beginning in 2024, the Washington State Purple Star Award is issued every two years to districts meeting specific criteria.

To learn more about OSPI's work on this topic, click here.

Thank you and congratulations to the 2024 Recipients!

2024 PURPLE STAR DISTRICTS
ESD District Contact Name Position Email District Website
101 Cheney School District Catheleen Scott Principal cascott@cheneysd.org Information for Military Families - Military - Cheney School District (cheneysd.org)
101 Medical Lake School District Isidro (Rey) Ornelas Military Family Advocate rornelas@mlsd.org MLSDFairchild
113 Yelm Community Schools Shannon Powell Director of Student Support shannon_powell@ycs.wednet.edu https://www.ycs.wednet.edu/Domain/27
113 North Thurston Public Schools Katie Linfoot Military Support Liaison klinfoot@nthurston.k12.wa.us Military Family Support / NTPS Military Support (nthurston.k12.wa.us)
114 Bremerton School District Kelli Leavell Teaching and Learning Coor. and Dept. of Defense Edu. Activity (DoDEA) Grant Director kelli.leavell@bremertonschools.org Military families (support for) / Welcome (bremertonschools.org)
114 North Mason Schools #403 Dana Rosenbach Superintendent drosenbach@northmasonschools.org Military Families | North Mason School District (northmasonschools.org)
114 Central Kitsap School District Franklyn MacKenzie Executive Director of Student Supports ranklyn@ckschools.org Military Families - Central Kitsap Schools (ckschools.org)
121 North Thurston Public Schools Luke Nelson School Counselor lnelson@nthurston.k12.wa.us https://www.nthurston.k12.wa.us/Domain/4530
121 Sumner-Bonney Lake School District Brian Scheerer Director of Safety and Security brian_scheerer@sumnersd.org https://www.sumnersd.org/families12/military-families
121 Clover Park School District Greg Davis Executive Director of Student Services and Compliance gdavis@cloverpark.k12.wa.us Military Families - Clover Park School District
121 Peninsula School District John Yellowlees Chief Academic Officer yellowleesj@psd401.net Military Families - Peninsula School District 401 (finalsite.com)
121 Steilacoom Historical School District Mary Snyder Director of Student Support msnyder@steilacoom.k12.wa.us Military Families - Steilacoom Historical School District 1
189 Oak Harbor School District 201 Dwight Lundstrom Assistant Superintendent dlundstrom@ohsd.net Oak Harbor Public Schools - Military Family Support (ohsd.net)
189 Oak Harbor Public Schools Jennifer Thompson Navy Child and Youth Education Services School Liaison NASWI.SL@us.navy.mil Oak Harbor Public Schools - Military Family Support (ohsd.net)


QUESTIONS

Please contact Shawna Kiliz with any questions regarding the Washington State Purple Star Award.

Upcoming Conferences

Interested in attending an upcoming conference? Check out the WASA Conference Calendar.

View Upcoming Conferences